Welcome to The Valley of Montreal Valley Scottish Rite Official website.


The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry commonly known as simply the Scottish Rite. A Rite is a series of progressive degrees that are conferred by various Masonic organizations or bodies, each of which operates under the control of its own central authority. In the Scottish Rite the central authority is called a Supreme Council.

The thirty-three degrees of the Scottish Rite are conferred by several controlling bodies.


4° Secret Master Master Traveler
5° Perfect Master
6° Intimate Secretary Master of the Brazen Serpent
7° Provost and Judge
8° Intendant of the Building
9° Elu of the Nine Master of the Temple
10° Elu of the Fifteen Master Elect
11° Elu of the Twelve Sublime Master Elected
12° Master Architect Grand Master Architect
13° Royal Arch of Solomon Master of the Ninth Arch
14° Perfect Elu Grand Elect Mason
15° Knight of the East, or Knight of the Sword, or Knight of the Eagle Knight of the East, or Knight of the Sword
16° Prince of Jerusalem
17° Knight of the East and West
18° Knight Rose Croix Knight of the Rose Croix de Heredom Council of Kadosh
19° Grand Pontiff
20° Master of the Symbolic Lodge Master ad Vitam
21° Noachite, or
Prussian Knight Patriarch Noachite
22° Knight of the Royal Axe, or
Prince of Libanus Prince of Libanus
23° Chief of the Tabernacle
24° Prince of the Tabernacle Brother of the Forest
25° Knight of the Brazen Serpent Master of Achievement
26° Prince of Mercy, or Scottish Trinitarian Friend and Brother Eternal
27° Knight of the Sun, or Prince Adept Knight of Jerusalem
28° Knight Commander of the Temple Knight of the Sun, or
Prince Adept
29° Scottish Knight of Saint Andrew Knight of Saint Andrew
30° Knight Kadosh or Knight of the White and Black Eagle Grand Inspector
31° Inspector Inquisitor Knight Aspirant
32° Master of the Royal Secret Sublime Prince of the Royal Secret
33° Inspector General